Starting off on a High Note: The Impact of Music on Your Baby

Standard

I’m now at 26 weeks, and Baby C is active and so responsive! He/she stays pretty calm at the gym when I’m doing my All Belly Pregnancy workouts and light cardio, but absolutely loves yoga, stretching along with me. Baby C also adores mealtimes, kicking and flipping soon after I eat. And when I’m moving or dancing, I often feel Baby C grooving along, too!

Baby C seems to love music. Antonio and I think it’s amazing that when we’re singing along with our favorite songs, or even just talking, Baby C is hearing everything! He/she may only be 26 weeks young, but (s)he’s already attended several concerts, including the Backstreet Boys, a 90s favorite of both parents. ūüėČ Baby C listens to house music, throwback music, rap, chill-out music, top 40, and, of course, classical piano, played by Mommy.

It's never too early to start exposing Baby to your favorite kinds of music!

It’s never too early to start exposing Baby to your favorite kinds of music!

I have found that my piano sessions have become a great way to bond with Baby C as he/she matures and becomes more responsive to sound and other external stimuli. Interestingly enough, studies have found that babies exposed to music in utero demonstrated earlier vocalization, increased attention, and more sound imitation after birth than babies who encountered minimal music as fetuses. Exciting stuff.

There is also evidence that the same music that is played to a fetus¬†in utero¬†will be soothing to the baby later on. Several studies actually showed that newborns¬†recognized melodies that were played to them in the womb. I’m hoping that Baby C’s exposure to classical piano will come in handy during nap times–perhaps, all it will take is a rendition of one of our Debussy favorites to put him/her to sleep. Wishful thinking? I guess we’ll find out. ūüėČ

Naturally, people are cashing in on these scientific findings, developing various products to promote music to fetuses. I just heard that there are actual belts being sold to pregnant women that can be worn around the waist to project music to the baby. I’m definitely not in line to buy one of those; honestly, the idea seems kind of useless to me. The baby can already hear the music we listen to, but maybe if you like tech-y gadgets, this would be a fun thing. For now, I’m going to stick to listening to music together, singing, and playing classical piano.

Mommies-to-be out there, have you noticed that your babies are responsive to music? What are your favorite songs to listen to together? Do you play any instruments, and if so, are you playing regularly for Baby? I’d love to hear your feedback!

Leave a Reply

