Mind Over Matter: Mindset Optimization in Month 9

Standard

I’m 37 and 1/2 weeks pregnant, and Baby C could come any day now! My excitement mounts as the big day draws nearer, but I also understand the value of these last few preparatory weeks before Baby C makes his or her debut into the world.

I’ve heard that the last month of pregnancy can be very difficult for many moms-to-be, especially first-timers. This is because nervous anticipation, a general aura of impatience, and ever-so-slight dark clouds of worry can threaten our positive mindset in the home stretch of pregnancy. But never fear–here are 5 ways to manage negative thoughts and optimize our mindsets in the final weeks!

Here I am at the beach at golden hour this past weekend, enjoying a relaxing sunset date with Antonio.

Here I am at the beach at golden hour this past weekend, optimizing my mindset on a relaxing sunset date with Antonio.

  1. Be prepared – This is the single best way to prevent unnecessary tension now, on your delivery day, and after you bring your baby home. By week 34 or 35, make sure you have packed your hospital bag, not only with your necessities, but with a receiving blanket and an outfit or two for baby. Here’s a great blog post I used when packing. Wash all the baby’s receiving blankets, crib sheets, and clothes, install the car seat, assemble the crib, and organize the baby’s room (or the corner of your room where baby will sleep for the first few months). Ask your OB/gyne for a list of recommended pediatricians, and program the phone number of your hospital into your phone (and your significant other’s phone, too). And finally, create a going-into-labor plan with your SO, or whoever will be bringing you to the hospital. Having all these details worked out ahead of time will give you peace of mind now, and make your life so much easier on the big day.
  2. Bond with your hubby – Your significant other has most likely been the most active and involved member of your pregnancy support system, and will continue to fill this role during labor and delivery and throughout baby’s life. Enjoy date nights at your favorite places, and embrace the romance and excitement of this special time. And make sure to snuggle–your oxytocin will skyrocket, a trend that will continue after your little one enters into the world.
  3. Stay active – I’m a huge advocate of staying fit during pregnancy, and the last weeks should be no exception. The All-Belly Pregnancy workouts, coupled with prenatal yoga and cardio, have been my fitness staples throughout pregnancy, and I’m still practicing both routines. However, my cardio on the treadmill was becoming annoying because Baby C has descended and is pressing on my bladder, so in the last month, I’ve taken to swimming for 30 minutes three times a week as my cardio. In the last few weeks of pregnancy, listening to your body is more important than ever, so don’t be afraid to tweak your exercise regimen.
  4. Focus on accomplishment – Throughout the last month of pregnancy, I have had an almost feverish creativity and drive to succeed. I just finished and released the last book of my Amish series, Amish Awakening: Rebekah and Braeden’s Book, and am promoting it hard-core. I also am nearly halfway finished writing the first book of my new YA Mermaid series, The Mermaid’s Curse. I feel so motivated to finish the book before Baby C arrives, and this desire is really spurring my work ethic and creativity. If you’re still working, make it a point to finish projects and give 100%. That way, you’ll be able to take your maternity leave on a high note, and transition smoothly back into the workforce when the time is right.
  5.  Enjoy, enjoy – Be thankful for all the beauty of these last golden weeks of pregnancy. Enjoy the baby’s kicks, the quality time with your family and friends, and the exhilaration this special time brings.

Moms-to-be out there, how are you optimizing your mindset in the prego home stretch? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

