Harnessing the Energy of the 39-Week Surge

Standard

I’m now at 39 weeks and one day, but who’s counting? 😉 Currently, I’m experiencing yet another interesting prego phenomenon: the 39-Week Energy Surge. As far as I know, I’m the only one who has coined this exact phrase, but I have read numerous articles and blog posts about “nesting” right before the baby is due and having sudden spurts of energy, so I’m thinking that my surge fits into this category.

My mom told me that, right before she had my brother and me, she started “nesting”–cleaning compulsively and making sure that all the baby stuff was ready. Antonio and I already feel prepped for Baby C’s arrival, so my energy has been directed at my writing–namely finishing the first draft and preliminary edit of my new teen romance, “The Mermaid’s Curse,” by 10/10/14, exactly four days before Baby C’s due date.

I’m no stranger to pumping out books; after all, since I retired from pharmacy last September, writing has been my full-time job, and I’ve been able to release at least one new Kindle eBook per month since last October. However, I wrote my mermaid book faster than any of my Amish romances. I started it on September 15th, overlapping with edits of my latest eBook, Amish Awakening, and am anticipating completing the first draft today and the preliminary edits tomorrow and Friday, before I submit it to my editor. Additionally, “The Mermaid’s Curse” will be about 34,000 words, much longer than any of my Amish novellas.

The 39-week energy surge is definitely real, and my theory is that it applies to moms and dads alike. So get out there and do something fun with all that energy ;)

The 39-week energy surge is definitely real, and my theory is that it applies to moms and dads alike. So get out there and do something fun with all that energy 😉

I attribute this crazy level of productivity to two things. First of all, I’m super-inspired to write about mermaids. After writing eleven Amish books, I was ready for a change of pace, and lately, I’ve been saturating myself in all things mermaid. Plus, the So-Cal lifestyle is so conducive to dreaming up stories set in an ocean environment; every time I swim in the pool or go to the beach, I’m instantly inspired!

But the other reason for the productivity is that I harnessed that 39-Week Energy Surge. For the last few weeks, I’ve been writing practically all day, feeling the impending deadline of Baby C’s arrival. When I was writing my Amish books, I would finish two or three new chapters on an average day; lately, I’ve been writing four or five, and last Friday, I wrote six!

And, apparently, this phenomenon extends to daddies-to-be as well; Antonio reported that he has been laser-focused and proactive at work, to finish up as many projects as he can before Baby C comes.

Full-term moms, what do you think? What are your personal experiences with the 39-Week Energy Surge, and what awesome personal goals do you hope to accomplish before Baby arrives? As always, I’d love to hear what you think!

2 thoughts on “Harnessing the Energy of the 39-Week Surge

Leave a Reply

